Virginia Tech®home

University Leadership

Learn more about Virginia Tech’s leadership and governance.

Virginia Tech campus in the fall

Board of Visitors

The Board of Visitors is the governing authority for Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. The board has 14 members, 13 of whom are appointed by the governor. The 14th member is the president of the Board of Agriculture and Consumer Services, who serves ex officio.

Senior administrative personnel

Virginia Tech is led by Timothy Sands, the university’s 16th president, and Cyril Clarke, the executive vice president and provost. The president reports directly to the Board of Visitors.

University Governance

The University Council and the University Commissions constitute the main resident bodies for policy formulation.

The University Commissions formulate and recommend policies to the University Council, which in turn makes recommendations to the president of the university. Final authority rests with the president of the university and the Board of Visitors.